Although not a member of any of the Councils of the United Nations in 1961, Canada followed their progress with close attention. The Security Council held 68 meetings during the year, of which 27 were devoted to the situation in the Congo. A resolution of Feb. 21 authorized the Secretary-General to use force, if necessary, as a last resort to prevent civil war; it also called for the withdrawal of foreign mercenaries and political advisers. When, after a period of protracted struggle, the Congo was again discussed in November, the Security Council passed a resolution authorizing the use of force, if necessary, to apprehend foreign mercenaries. (Efforts toward conciliation in the Congo were also continued by the Congo Advisory Committee.)

Eleven meetings of the Security Council were devoted to the situation in Angola, six to the Tunisian complaint on Bizerte, four to the complaint of Kuwait and the counter complaint of Iraq, three to the Cuban complaint against the United States, three to the Cuban complaint about "imminent armed intervention" by the United States in the Dominican Republic, three to a Jordanian complaint against Israel, two to the Portuguese complaint against India in connection with Gôa, and one private meeting each to the appointment of an Acting Secretary-General and to the report of the Security Council to the 16th session of the General Assembly.

The Security Council also recommended the admission of Sierra Leone, Mauretania, Outer Mongolia and Tanganyika to the United Nations. With the resumption by Syria of the seat it had vacated to join with Egypt in the United Arab Republic, membership in the United Nations stood at 104 at the end of the year.

During 1961, the membership of the Security Council was as follows: Permanent Members—China, France, Britain, the United States and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics; Non-permanent Members—Ceylon, Chile, Ecuador, Liberia, Turkey and the United Arab Republic. On Jan. 1, 1962, Ghana, Venezuela and Romania replaced Ceylon, Ecuador and Turkey. In accordance with an agreement reached in 1960, Liberia resigned its seat on Dec. 31, 1961, and was replaced by Ireland.

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) continued its active role in promoting international co-operation in the economic and social fields. Specifically, regional matters were considered in detail by the Economic Commissions for Europe (ECE), for Asia and the Far East (ECAFE), for Latin America (ECLA) and for Africa (ECA). ECOSOC had, moreover, reports from its Social Commission and its other functional commissions on Narcotic Drugs, International Commodity Trade, the Status of Women, Population, Statistics, Transport and Communications, Human Rights and Social Conditions. At the end of 1961 Canada was a member of the first three of these functional bodies.

Canada is also a member of the Governing Council of the United Nations Special Fund, a new international assistance program intended to enlarge the scope of existing United Nations activities in such fields as surveys of water, mineral and potential power resources, the establishment of institutions of public administration, statistics and technology, and the development of centres for agricultural and industrial research.

The Trusteeship Council, of which Canada has never been a member, completed a year of close supervision of the administration of agreements between the United Nations and those member States that have responsibility for trust territories. Intended to comprise administering trust territories and an equal number of non-administering States, including permanent members of the Security Council not represented in the first group, the Council had an unbalanced membership in 1961. With the retirement of Burma, Paraguay and the United Arab Republic, the Council will regain a balanced membership of ten during 1962 (five administering authorities—Australia, Belgium, New Zealand, Britain and the United States; and five non-administering members—China, France, the U.S.S.R., Bolivia and India).

By the end of 1961, only four of the original eleven trust territories remained under the jurisdiction of the Council-New Guinea, Nauru, the Pacific Islands, and Ruanda Urundi. During the course of the year, three trust territories—the British Cameroons, Tanganyika and Western Samoa—achieved their independence. Tanganyika became the